State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO Economic Cooperation and Development

This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Home Language Selection



Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



1980–1989


The 1980s opened with many developing countries facing debt-service payments that exceeded new loans, while the recession curtailed market opportunities in industrialised nations. The result was a serious balance-of-payments and debt crisis, along with a decline in real terms in per-capital income. Structural adjustments, i.e. a reduction in public spending and deregulation of economic policies, were implemented in an attempt to deal with the debt crisis.

In 1986, the Federal Council presented the third message on the continuation of economic and trade-policy measures to the Parliament. Taking the example of trade, the document went into considerable detail on the interdependence between industrial and developing countries. The preferred instruments remained mixed credits, balance-of-payments assistance, commodity and trade promotion and campaigns to support the use of private-sector funds for industrialisation. These were deployed either individually or combined with each other. Almost two-thirds of the funds were earmarked for mixed credits, invested in energy, telecommunications and industrial projects. The upper limit for recipient countries was raised from a per-capita income of USD 1,000 to 1,430.

The quality of the projects was secured through early participation in formulating the project, e.g. by means of technical missions as well as close contact with the recipient countries and with the Swiss industry. For the first time, specific projects were also assessed by private consultants through field studies or desk research. Such appraisals of achievement of objecives were used to draw lessons for the formulation of future projects.

As 1989 came to a close and the Berlin Wall came down, the Federal Council proposed a credit facility of 250 million francs to finance immediate aid for the former eastern-bloc countries.


End Content Area

Full-text search

Quotation:

“Many developing countries continue to face serious (...) problems. Haunted by such difficulties, many of these countries are attempting to introduce reforms. However, without increased and active support from the international community of states, the chances of these much-needed reforms succeeding are (...) questionable. We must therefore support such countries’ own efforts – which are costly in both economic and social terms during the transition phase – by ensuring better underlying conditions and direct financial measures.”

Message of 19 February 1986 on the continuation of economic and trade-policy measures



State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO Economic Cooperation and Development
info.cooperation@seco.admin.ch | Legal framework
http://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/org/05030/05032/05039/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung: 1980–1989


Zu Beginn des Jahrzehnts übersteigen in vielen Entwicklungsländern die Schuldendienstzahlungen die Neukredite, während in den Industrieländern die Absatzmöglichkeiten rezessionsbedingt einbrechen. Akute Zahlungsbilanz- und Verschuldungskrisen und damit eine reale Abnahme des pro-Kopf-Einkommens sind die Folgen. Strukturanpassungen, d.h. die Kürzung der Staatsausgaben und Liberalisierung von Wirtschaftspolitiken sollen die Schuldenkrise überwinden.

1986 legt der Bundesrat dem Schweizer Parlament die dritte Botschaft über die Weiterführung der wirtschafts- und handelspolitischen Massnahmen vor. Diese widmet sich am Beispiel des Handels ausführlich dem Thema der Interdependenz zwischen Industrie- und Entwicklungsländern. Bevorzugte Instrumente bleiben Mischkredite, Zahlungsbilanzhilfe, Rohstoff- und Handelsförderung sowie Aktionen zur Unterstützung des Einsatzes privatwirtschaftlicher Mittel für die Industrialisierung. Diese werden einzeln oder in Verbindung miteinander eingesetzt. Fast zwei Drittel der Mittel sind für Mischkredite reserviert, die in Energie-, Telekom- und Industrieprojekte investiert werden. Die Richtgrösse für die obere Grenze der möglichen Empfängerländer wird von 1000 auf 1430 Dollar Einkommen pro Kopf der Bevölkerung angehoben.

Die frühe Beteiligung an der Projektausarbeitung, unter anderem mittels technischer Missionen, engem Kontakt mit den Empfängerländern sowie der schweizerischen Industrie soll die Qualität der Projekte sichern. Erstmals evaluieren verwaltungsexterne Berater auch ausgewählte Projekte anhand von Feldstudien oder Schreibtisch-Recherchen. Solche Bestandesaufnahmen zur Zielereichung dienen dazu, Lehren für die künftige Gestaltung von Vorhaben zu ziehen.

Ende 1989 fällt die Berliner Mauer und der Bundesrat beantragt einen Rahmenkredit von 250 Millionen Franken zur Finanzierung von Soforthilfsmassnahmen zugunsten osteuropäischer Staaten.


Ende Inhaltsbereich

Zitat:

«Viele Entwicklungsländer begegnen weiterhin grossen ... Problemen. Unter dem Eindruck dieser Schwierigkeiten zeichen sich heute in vielen Entwicklungsländern Reformbestrebungen ab. Ohne aktive und verstärkte Unterstützung durch die internationale Staatengemeinschaft werden die Durchführung und der Erfolg dieser notwendigen Reformbemühungen ... in Frage gestellt. Es gilt deshalb, diese Eigenanstrengungen, die während der Anpassungzseit hohe wirtschaftliche und soziale Kosten verursachen, mit verbesserten Rahmenbedingungen zu begünstigen und mit finanziellen Massnahmen direkt zu unterstützen.»

Botschaft über die Weiterführung der wirtschafts- und handelspolitischen Massnahmen vom 19. Februar 1986



http://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/org/05030/05032/05039/index.html?lang=de