Archive «Hot topics» 2018

City Resilience Program

Urban resilience and disaster risk reduction

06.09.2018 – SECO and the World Bank organized an exchange with Swiss business stakeholders that work in the field of urban resilience, disaster risk reduction and disaster risk financing. The idea was to present the engagement of SECO, link Swiss Businesses with the World Bank and discuss possibilities of potential future collaboration.  

Hydropower ESG gap analysis tool

Hydropower ESG gap analysis tool

11.07.2018 - SECO recognizes the importance of sustainable hydropower to address climate change. It is therefore supporting the roll-out of the Hydropower Sustainability Assessment Protocol and the development of an Environmental, Social and Governance gap analysis tool for project developers and investors.
Press release

Uzbekistan, Kyrgyz Republic, Azerbaijan

Federal Councillor was on mission to Uzbekistan, Kyrgyz Republic and Azerbaijan

05.07.2018 – Federal Councillor Johann N. Schneider-Ammann traveled to the South Caucasus and Central Asia from 8 to 16 July. Among other things, the aim was to foster relations with member countries of Switzerland’s constituency in the international financial institutions and to highlight Switzerland’s development cooperation programmes in Uzbekistan, Kyrgyz Republic and Azerbaijan.  

Swiss Enlargement Contribution Annual Report 2017

One billion well invested

06.06.2018 – The ten countries that joined the EU in 2004 have completed their projects under the enlargement contribution. SECO and the SDC have taken stock of the last decade and published the results in their 2017 annual report. The projects have made a significant contribution to reducing economic and social disparities in Europe.

2017 Annual Report on Swiss International Cooperation

Switzerland‘s International Cooperation on track

28.05.2018 – SECO and SDC have published their online annual report on Switzerland’s International Cooperation. In 2017, the priorities were to provide emergency aid, combat poverty and inequalities, and help to overcome global challenges. More than 80% of the realised projects and programmes proved effective.

Concours Marocain des Produits du Terroir

PAMPAT Tunisie

3rd Moroccan Traditional Products Contest

17.05.2018 – The 3rd «Concours Marocain des Produits du Terroir» was held in Rabat end of April. Initially launched under the SECO "PAMPAT" programme, the contest promotes quality and innovation of agricultural products. A total of 650 products were evaluated, 30% of which received an award. The award-winning products are subsequently promoted nationally and will find easier access to international markets.

Annual Swiss Development Cooperation Conference

Developing urban and rural areas sustainably Two of Switzerland's priorities in Africa

22.05.2018 – The Annual Swiss Development Cooperation Conference SECO/SDC takes place on Friday 29 June 2018 in Bern. Switzerland’s development cooperation supports both rural and urban areas. For people living in the countryside, this is mainly about higher returns from their products. In the towns, the focus is on private sector development and advising authorities. Follow the conference live online from 1:00 pm.

PAMPAT Morocco

PAMPAT Tunisie

3rd Moroccan Traditional Products Contest

17.05.2018 – The 3rd «Concours Marocain des Produits du Terroir» was held in Rabat end of April. Initially launched under the SECO “PAMPAT” programme, the contest promotes quality and innovation of agricultural products. A total of 650 products were evaluated, 30% of which received an award. The award-winning products are subsequently promoted nationally and will find easier access to international markets.

Spring meetings of IMF and WBG

Green growth investments to reduce CO2 emissions in developing countries

21.04.2018 – On the occasion of the joint spring meetings of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank Group in Washington, SECO signed a programme with the International Finance Corporation (IFC) on capital mobilisation for green growth investments. The programme seeks to reduce CO2 emissions in developing countries.

Cooperation strategy Serbia

Launch Länderstrategie Serbien 2018-2021, April 2018

Swiss cooperation strategy with Serbia launched

19.04.2018 – Switzerland and Serbia officially launched the Swiss cooperation strategy with Serbia 2018-2021. The strategy assists Serbia on its path towards European integration. By implementing it, SECO together with SDC support Serbia in the process of improving business environment, good governance, reducing poverty and empowering marginalized social groups.

Switzerland's official development assistance in 2017

Decrease of Switzerland's official development assistance in 2017

10.04.2018 – With an official development assistance (ODA) rate of 0.46% of its gross national income (GNI), Switzerland ranked in 2017 in the top third of donor countries according to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).

Responsible Mining Index

First Responsible Mining Index published

11.04.2018 – The first Responsible Mining Index was released in Geneva. SECO supports the index, which assesses and rates – in a transparent and independent manner – the economic, social and environmental performances of 30 state-owned and private mining companies around the globe.

Enlargement contribution

Consultation on a second Swiss contribution

28.03.2018 – The Federal Council decided to initiate the consultation procedure on a second Swiss contribution to selected EU member states. With this contribution, Switzerland aims to continue to contribute to the reduction of economic and social disparities in the EU member states.  

Annual programme

SECO annual programme for economic cooperation and development

02.03.2018 – SECO has published its annual plans (PDF, 1 MB, 02.03.2018) for economic cooperation and development. The preparatory work for the new Message on International Cooperation 2021-24 will start in 2018. Plans are to also increase the leverage effect and reach of SECO’s interventions by strengthening partnerships. Another topic in 2018 will be to improve the efficiency of the internal processes.  

BIOFACH 2018

Ukraine - berries, wild collection

International Market Access for Organic Producers

13.02.2018 – The SECO promotes the trade of certified organic agricultural products and thus enables farmers in poorer countries – amongst others in Ucraine – to access international markets. From 14 to 17 February, the partners are exhibiting their products on the World's Leading Trade Fair for Organic Food in Nuremberg.

Pamir Energy

Pamir Energy

Clean and sustainable energy from hydropower for over 200,000 people

01.02.2018 – Thanks to SECO's cooperation with international partners, over 200,000 people in a remote mountainous region in Tajikistan benefit from a functioning power grid. The quality of life has improved a lot and new perspectives have opened up.

Video Pamir Energy

Swiss Cocoa Platform

Kakaoplattform

Foundation of the Association of the Swiss Cocoa Platform

24.01.2018 – On January 23, the first regular member assembly of the Swiss Platform for Sustainable Cocoa (PDF, 63 kB, 23.01.2018) was held in Zurich. In the future, the Platform will be functioning as an independent association – an important step to bundle the forces of Swiss companies, the civil society and the Confederation. Once more, the members reaffirmed the common goals towards more sustainability in the cocoa value chain.

World Economic Forum WEF

Bundesrat Johann N. Schneider Ammann mit Präsidenten der Entwicklungsbanken am WEF 2018

The federal councillor meets Presidents of Development Banks

24.01.2018 – Federal Councillor Johann N. Schneider-Ammann met the presidents of the development banks and high-ranking representatives of the Swiss economy at the World Economic Forum in Davos. The subject of their meeting was digitization. They discussed the existing challenges and opportunities for deeper cooperation between the Swiss private sector and the development banks.  

Social Impact Bonds

Impact Bond Konferenz vom 18. Januar 2018

New financing mechanisms in international cooperation

18.01.2018 – The UN estimates that additional funds of USD 2.5 trillion a year will be needed until 2030 to achieve its development goals. On 18 January 2018, a SECO conference in Zurich demonstrated new financing mechanisms, such as Social Impact Bonds.

Press release

Swiss Sustainable Finance

Ambassador Raymund Furrer at the Swiss Sustainable Finance Conference in January 2018

Private investment solutions for sustainable development

16.01.2018 – Swiss asset managers have a leading position in providing investment solutions that support the achievement of the sustainable development goals. This was demonstrated by an international conference held by Swiss Sustainable Finance and SECO in Zurich on 16 January. Some 240 participants informed themselves about innovative partnerships for development investments.
Press release

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/en/home/archiv/brennpunkte.html

Archiv «Im Brennpunkt» 2018

Schweizer Erweiterungsbeitrag Jahresbericht 2017

Eine gut investierte Milliarde

06.06.2018 – Die zehn Länder, die 2004 der EU beigetreten sind, haben die Projekte des Erweiterungsbeitrags abgeschlossen. SECO und DEZA ziehen Bilanz und publizieren die erreichten Resultate im Jahresbericht 2017. Die Projekte leisteten einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Abbau der sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Ungleichheiten in Europa.

Jahresbericht zur internationalen Zusammenarbeit (IZA) 2017

Schweizer IZA auf Kurs

28.05.2018 –Das SECO und die DEZA haben ihren Online-Jahresbericht zur internationalen Zusammenarbeit der Schweiz veröffentlicht. 2017 ging es vor allem darum, Nothilfe zu leisten, Armut und Ungleichheiten zu bekämpfen und globale Herausforderungen bewältigen zu helfen. Mehr als 80% der realisierten Projekte und Programme erwiesen sich als wirksam.

Concours Marocain des Produits du Terroir

PAMPAT Tunisie

Dritter Wettbewerb für lokale marokkanische Produkte

17.05.2018 – Ende April fand in Rabat der dritte «Concours Marocain des Produits du Terroir» statt. Der im Rahmen des SECO-Programms «PAMPAT» lancierte Wettbewerb fördert Qualität und Innovation von Agrarprodukten. Insgesamt 650 Produkte wurden bewertet, davon erhielten 30 Prozent eine Auszeichnung. Die prämierten Produkte werden national vermarktet und finden leichter Zugang zu internationalen Märkten.  

Jahreskonferenz der Schweizer Entwicklungszusammenarbeit

Stadt und Land nachhaltig entwickeln: zwei Schweizer Schwerpunkte in Afrika

22.05.2018 – Am 29. Juni findet die Jahreskonferenz der Schweizer Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in der BERNEXPO in Bern statt. SECO und DEZA stellen spannende Projekte vor, Referentinnen und Referenten aus dem Tschad und aus Südafrika geben Einblicke in die internationale Zusammenarbeit der Schweiz. Die Konferenz wird ab 13 Uhr online direkt übertragen.

PAMPAT Marokko

PAMPAT Tunisie

Dritter Wettbewerb für lokale marokkanische Produkte

17.05.2018 – Ende April fand in Rabat der dritte «Concours Marocain des Produits du Terroir» statt. Der im Rahmen des SECO-Programms «PAMPAT» lancierte Wettbewerb fördert Qualität und Innovation von Agrarprodukten. Insgesamt 650 Produkte wurden bewertet, davon erhielten 30 Prozent eine Auszeichnung. Die prämierten Produkte werden national vermarktet und finden leichter Zugang zu internationalen Märkten.

Frühjahrstagung IWF und WBG

Grüne Investitionen für die Reduktion von CO2-Emissionen in Entwicklungsländern

21.04.2018 – Das SECO hat an der Frühjahrstagung des Internationalen Währungsfonds (IWF) und der Weltbankgruppe in Washington ein Programm mit der Internationalen Finanz-Corporation (IFC) unterzeichnet. Dieses soll Kapital für grüne Investitionen mobilisieren und damit die CO2-Emissionen in Entwicklungsländern reduzieren.  

Podiumsdiskussion in Aarau

Das Parlament tagt in der Nationalversammlung von Serbien. ©Keystone

Mehr Demokratie und Rechtsstaatlichkeit: das Schweizer Engagement in Osteuropa

01.05.2018 – Am 22. Mai 2018 organisieren das SECO und die DEZA eine Podiumsdiskussion im Kultur- und Kongresszentrum Aarau zum Schweizer Engagement in Osteuropa. Es diskutieren Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Politik, Wissenschaft und Privatwirtschaft sowie vom SECO und von der DEZA.  

Länderstrategie Serbien

Launch Länderstrategie Serbien 2018-2021, April 2018

Schweizer Kooperationsstrategie in Serbien lanciert

19.04.2018 – Die Schweiz und Serbien haben Ende April die Schweizer Kooperationsstrategie in Serbien 2018-2021 offiziell lanciert. Diese begleitet Serbien bei seiner Integration in Europa. Das SECO setzt die Strategie zusammen mit der DEZA um. Die Schweiz unterstützt Serbien in den Bereichen Gouvernanz, Wirtschaftsförderung und Armutsbekämpfung sowie bei der Stärkung von benachteiligten Gruppen.  

Öffentliche Entwicklungshilfe der Schweiz 2017

Rückgang der öffentlichen Entwicklungshilfe der Schweiz 2017

10.04.2018 – Mit einem Anteil der öffentlichen Entwicklungshilfe (APD) von 0,46% am Bruttonationaleinkommen (BNE) befindet sich die Schweiz 2017 im ersten Drittel der Geberländer der Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD).  

Responsible Mining Index

Erster Index für verantwortungsvollen Bergbau lanciert

11.04.2018 – In Genf wurde der erste Responsible Mining Index veröffentlicht. Das SECO unterstützt den neuen Index, welcher – transparent und unabhängig – die Praktiken von 30 staatlichen und privaten Bergbaukonzernen weltweit in wirtschaftlicher, sozialer und ökologischer Hinsicht untersucht und bewertet.

Schweizer Beitrag an die erweiterte EU

Vernehmlassung für einen zweiten Schweizer Beitrag

28.03.2018 – Der Bundesrat hat entschieden, das Vernehmlassungsverfahren für einen zweiten Beitrag an ausgewählte EU-Staaten zu eröffnen. Mit diesem Beitrag soll die Schweiz auch künftig zur Verminderung der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Ungleichheiten in den EU-Staaten beitragen.  

Jahresplanung 2018

Jahresprogramm der Wirtschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung des SECO

02.03.2018 – Das SECO hat seine Jahresplanung (PDF, 1 MB, 02.03.2018) zur Wirtschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung veröffentlicht. 2018 werden die Vorarbeiten zur neuen Botschaft IZA 2021-24 begonnen. Im Weiteren sollen mit verstärkten Partnerschaften die Hebelwirkung und Reichweite der SECO-Interventionen vergrössert werden. Schliesslich geht es 2018 darum, die internen Prozesse effizienter zu gestalten.

BIOFACH 2018

Ukraine - berries, wild collection

Internationaler Marktzugang für Bioproduzenten

13.02.2018 – Das SECO fördert den Handel mit biozertifizierten Agrarprodukten und ermöglicht damit Bauern aus ärmeren Ländern – unter anderem aus der Ukraine – den Zugang zu internationalen Märkten. Die Partner stellen ihre Produkte vom 14. bis am 17. Februar 2018 an der Messe für Bio-Lebensmittel in Nürnberg aus.

Projekt Pamir Energy

Pamir Energy

Saubere und nachhaltige Energie aus Wasserkraft für über 200'000 Menschen

01.02.2018 – Dank der Zusammenarbeit des SECO mit internationalen Partnern profitieren über 200'000 Menschen einer abgelegenen Bergregion in Tadschikistan von einem funktionierenden Stromnetz. Die Lebensqualität der Menschen hat sich stark verbessert und neue Perspektiven haben sich eröffnet.

Video Pamir Energy

Schweizer Kakaoplattform

Kakaoplattform

Gründung Verein Schweizer Kakaoplattform

24.01.2018 – Am 23. Januar wurde in Zürich die erste ordentliche Mitgliederversammlung der Schweizer Plattform für Nachhaltigen Kakao (PDF, 63 kB, 23.01.2018) durchgeführt. Künftig wird die Plattform als eigenständiger Verein geführt – ein wichtiger Schritt, um die Kräfte von Schweizer Firmen, der Zivilgesellschaft und des Bundes zu bündeln. Die Mitglieder bekräftigten erneut die gemeinsamen Ziele für mehr Nachhaltigkeit in der Kakaowertschöpfungskette.

World Economic Forum WEF

Bundesrat Johann N. Schneider Ammann mit Präsidenten der Entwicklungsbanken am WEF 2018

Bundesrat trifft Präsidenten der Entwicklungsbanken

24.01.2018 – Bundesrat Johann N. Schneider-Ammann hat am WEF die Präsidenten der Entwicklungsbanken und hochrangige Vertreter der Schweizer Wirtschaft getroffen. Thema des Treffens war die Digitalisierung. Gemeinsam wurden die bestehenden Herausforderungen sowie Möglichkeiten für eine vertiefte Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Schweizer Privatsektor und den Entwicklungsbanken besprochen.

Social Impact Bonds

Impact Bond Konferenz vom 18. Januar 2018

Neue Finanzierungsmechanismen in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit

18.01.2018 – Die UNO schätzt, dass bis 2030 jährlich 2,5 Billionen Dollar zusätzliche Gelder benötigt werden, um ihre nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele zu erreichen. Am 18. Januar 2018 zeigte eine Konferenz des SECO in Zürich neue Finanzierungsmechanismen wie die "Social Impact Bonds" auf.

Medienmitteilung

Swiss Sustainable Finance

Ambassador Raymund Furrer at the Swiss Sustainable Finance Conference in January 2018

Private Investitionslösungen für nachhaltige Entwicklung

16.01.2018 – Schweizer Vermögensverwalter sind führend bei der Entwicklung von Anlagelösungen, welche die Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung erreichen helfen. Dies zeigte eine internationale Konferenz, die von Swiss Sustainable Finance und vom SECO am 16. Januar in Zürich durchgeführt wurde. Rund 240 Teilnehmende informierten sich über innovative Partnerschaften für Entwicklungsinvestments.
Medienmitteilung (PDF, 92 kB, 18.01.2018)

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/de/home/archiv/brennpunkte.html