Peru

Peru is a priority country of SECO’s economic cooperation and development. The Peruvian economy has shown steady growth in recent years. However, in 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic hit the country hard, heavily affecting growth rates and threatening to reverse the progress in reducing inequality of the past 20 years. SECO supports Peru’s economic development by fostering resilient subnational growth hubs and a competitive, innovative and sustainable private sector.



Opportunities and challenges

The Peruvian economy faces several challenges: First, the capital city Lima remains the countries’ single most important source of growth and employment (one-third of Peru’s population lives in Lima). It therefore constitutes a bulk risk to the economy, also because Lima is highly vulnerable to climate change and natural disasters. Second, Peru’s economy remains heavily dependent on commodity exports, mainly gold.

Peru aims to diversify its sources of growth in geographic terms by developing economic hubs outside of Lima and by improving the resilience of its economy. The government assigns a high priority to advance decentralisation, to diversify the Peruvian economy, to increase the productivity of firms and to strengthen international competitiveness.

What are SECO’s objectives?

SECO supports the country’s efforts and promotes:

  • Resilient subnational growth hubs
    SECO contributes to an effective, green and transparent use of public resources at the national and subnational level. It collaborates with the Peruvian Government and the private sector to improve urban infrastructure. Concretely, SECO supports emerging medium-sized towns in their ability to provide basic public services, such as clean water, sanitation and mobility.
  • A competitive, innovative and sustainable private sector
    SECO pushes for policy reforms to improve the business environment for the private sector and the investment climate. Furthermore, SECO promotes the strengthening of selected value chains and supports an increase in the international competitiveness of Peru’s private sector.

From 2021 to 2024, a total of some CHF 75 million is foreseen for SECO’s economic development cooperation with Peru.

Last modification 21.06.2021

Top of page

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/en/home/laender/peru.html

Pérou

Le Pérou est un pays prioritaire de la coopération et du développement économiques du SECO. Ces dernières années, son économie a connu une croissance régulière. En 2020, toutefois, le pays a été touché de plein fouet par la pandémie de COVID-19, risquant ainsi d’anéantir les progrès réalisés au cours des 20 dernières en matière de réduction des inégalités. Le SECO soutient le développement économique du Pérou en encourageant la constitution de pôles de croissance infranationaux résilients et l’émergence d’un secteur privé compétitif, innovant et durable.

L’économie péruvienne doit faire face à plusieurs défis: premièrement, la capitale, Lima, accueille un tiers de la population du pays et demeure ainsi la plus importante source de croissance et d’emploi. Une telle concentration représente un risque majeur pour l’économie, d’autant que la ville est fortement exposée au changement climatique et aux catastrophes naturelles. Deuxièmement, l’économie péruvienne reste fortement dépendante des exportations de matières premières, en particulier l’or.

Une fille devant une école
Améliorer la qualité de la formation publique est l'un des principaux défis du Pérou.

Besoin de diversification

Le Pérou vise à diversifier ses sources de croissance sur le plan géographique en développant des pôles d’activité en dehors de Lima et en améliorant la résilience de son économie. Le gouvernement accorde une priorité élevée à la décentralisation, à la diversification de l’économie, à l’augmentation de la productivité des entreprises et au renforcement de la compétitivité (internationale).

Quels sont les objectifs du SECO?

Le SECO soutient le pays dans ses efforts en ce qui concerne:

  • Les pôles de croissance infranationaux résilients
    Le SECO œuvre en faveur d’une utilisation efficace, durable et transparente des ressources publiques aux niveaux national et infranational. Il coopère avec le gouvernement et le secteur privé péruviens dans le but d’améliorer les infrastructures dans les zones urbaines. Concrètement, il soutient les villes de taille moyenne qui sont en expansion afin qu’elles puissent fournir des services publics de base tels que l’approvisionnement en eau potable, l’assainissement des eaux usées et la mobilité.
  • Un secteur privé compétitif, innovant et durable
    Le SECO encourage les réformes politiques visant à améliorer l’environnement commercial pour le secteur privé et le climat d’investissement. Il promeut en outre le renforcement de certaines chaînes de valeur et soutient l’amélioration de la compétitivité internationale du secteur privé péruvien.

Pour la période 2021 à 2024, la Suisse prévoit quelque 75 millions de francs au total en faveur de la coopération au développement économique du SECO au Pérou.

Dernière modification 03.03.2021

Début de la page

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/fr/home/laender/peru.html