Vietnam

Vietnam is a priority country of SECO’s economic cooperation and development. Despite an overall positive economic development, Vietnam’s productivity growth remains slow. SECO has three objectives here: a more efficient use of public resources, improved competitiveness of the private sector and sustainable urban development.

The government of Vietnam has introduced cautious market-oriented reforms over the past 30 years. This has led to a considerable reduction in poverty and the development of a more open economy. Per capita income has risen constantly by around 5% p.a. over the past 20 years. Labour-intensive sectors, such as the garment industry, have contributed most to this growth.

Woman working in a timber plant
SECO supports SMEs in Vietnam.

Remaining challenges require further reaching reforms

Nevertheless, Vietnam continues to face a number of important challenges and much remains to be done to sustain long-term economic growth. State-owned enterprises with low productivity continue to have privileged access to resources with a negative impact on development. SMEs have a weak competitive standing, in particular in terms of participation in global value chains, and find it difficult to find skilled workers. Moreover, the country faces regional disparities. Also, on account of its long coastal line and the low lying Mekong and Red River delta, Vietnam is particularly susceptible to climate-related disasters.

What are SECO’s objectives?

Effective economic policies and institutions

SECO supports public-sector reforms targeting more efficient and effective use of public resources. Moreover, it promotes a well-developed financial sector. Thereby, SECO fosters access to capital for growing businesses.

A competitive private sector

SECO supports Vietnam’s private sector, in particular SMEs, to improve competitiveness and gain access to international markets. It fosters sustainable trade and investment as well as resource-efficient industrial production.

Sustainable urban development

SECO supports Vietnam’s fast growing cities in sustaining their role as economic and social hubs. It promotes long-term urban planning. Moreover, SECO helps cities deliver reliable public services in the waste and transport sector.

Apart from SECO, the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) from the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs also operates in Vietnam through global programmes.

From 2017 to 2020, a total of some CHF 80 million is earmarked for SECO’s economic development cooperation with Vietnam.

Last modification 10.09.2019

Top of page

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/en/home/laender/vietnam.html

Vietnam

Le Vietnam est un pays prioritaire de la coopération et du développement économiques du SECO. En dépit d’un développement économique positif dans l’ ensemble, la productivité vietnamienne croît lentement. Le SECO y vise trois objectifs: optimiser l’utilisation des ressources publiques, renforcer la compétitivité du secteur privé et veiller au développement durable des villes.

Ces trente dernières années, le gouvernement vietnamien a mené des réformes économiques prudentes. Ces réformes ont permis de réduire considérablement la pauvreté et d’ouvrir l’économie vietnamienne. Le revenu par habitant augmente de quelque 5% par an depuis vingt ans. Les branches à haut coefficient de main-d’œuvre, comme l’industrie textile, contribuent à cette hausse.

femme au travail dans une fabrique de bois
Le SECO soutient les PME en Vietnam.

Les défis persistants nécessitent des réformes de plus grande ampleur

Le Vietnam est tout de même confronté à bon nombre d’enjeux. Il reste fort à faire pour que la reprise économique s’installe durablement. Les entreprises étatiques à faible productivité profitent encore d’un accès privilégié aux ressources, ce qui a des répercussions négatives sur le développement. Les PME sont peu compétitives, surtout dans le cadre des chaînes de valeur mondiales, et elles peinent à trouver une main-d’œuvre qualifiée. Le pays connaît des inégalités régionales. Caractérisé par sa longue bande côtière, la faiblesse de la pente hydrographique du bassin du Mékong et du delta du fleuve Rouge, il est en outre vulnérable aux catastrophes naturelles liées au climat.

Quels sont les objectifs du SECO?

Promouvoir une politique économique et des institutions efficaces

le SECO appuie les réformes dans le secteur public, afin d’en utiliser les ressources de manière plus performante et efficace. Il favorise le développement d’un secteur financier solide en facilitant l’accès au capital des entreprises en développement.

Accroître la compétitivité du secteur privé

le SECO aide le secteur privé du Vietnam, et en particulier les PME, à accroître leur compétitivité et à améliorer leur accès aux marchés internationaux. Il encourage le commerce et les investissements durables, ainsi qu’une production industrielle économe en ressources.

Favoriser le développement urbain durable

le SECO soutient les villes vietnamiennes, qui se développent très rapidement, dans leur rôle de centres socio-économiques, et favorise une urbanisation durable. Le SECO aide également les villes à proposer des services publics fiables dans les domaines de l’élimination des déchets et des transports.

En plus du SECO, la Direction du développement et de la coopération (DDC) du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères est active au Vietnam par le biais de programmes mondiaux.

Il est prévu de consacrer quelque 80 millions de francs à la coopération au développement économique du SECO avec le Vietnam entre 2017 et 2020.

Dernière modification 10.09.2019

Début de la page

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/fr/home/laender/vietnam.html