Archive «Hot topics» 2022

SECO on Instagram

Stories of economic cooperation and development

09.11.2022 - SECO Economic Cooperation and Development is now on Instagram. Check out the channel and support SECO by following, liking and commenting its posts.

 

Annual meetings World Bank Group

Ukraine, food and energy crisis, climate finance

14.10.2022 - At the annual meetings of the World Bank Group (WBG), the impact of the war in Ukraine, the global food and energy crisis and climate finance were discussed. Switzerland reaffirmed its support for the WBG's continued commitment to providing financial, political and technical support to Ukraine. Moreover, on the food and energy crisis, the importance of expanding renewable energy and promoting sustainable agriculture were stressed.   

Building Bridges Summit 2022

Building Bridges Summit 2022

06.10.2022 - At the Building Bridges Summit in Geneva, State Secretary Helene Budliger Artieda made a plea for an integrated view on Environmental, Social and Corporate Governance (ESG) aspects in economic policy and investment decisions. SECO also co-organized a session on innovative blended finance solutions and gave an update on the SDG Impact Finance Initiative since its launch in 2021.

Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Annual Meeting ADB 2022

27.09.2022 - The Governors of the Asian Development Bank (ADB), among them Switzerland, are meeting at the Annual Meeting in Manila to discuss avenues for sustainable green growth post-Covid-19 in the Asia and Pacific region. The emerging food crisis and the Bank’s role in scaling up climate finance are at the heart of the discussions. In particular, Switzerland is committed to strong partnerships and combating climate change.

International Finance Corporation

Strategic and operational cooperation

20.09.2022 - At the partnership meeting in Bern, SECO and the International Finance Corporation exchanged views on strategic and operational cooperation. Both are committed to a productive private sector, the creation of good investment conditions and sustainable economic development worldwide.

European politics - Second Swiss contribution

Arbeiter bei der Installation von Fotovoltaikanlagen in Niepolomice, Polen

Programmes can be started

31.08.2022 - The Federal Council approved the bilateral implementation agreements for the Swiss contribution to cohesion in Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Malta and Poland. Now Switzerland can move into the operational stage.

Engagement on climate change

Sustainable economy

17.08.2022 - SECO supports developing countries in the transition to a low-carbon and resilient economy. It systematically considers climate risk and ways to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in its activities. Together with its partners, SECO mobilizes private sector investment in climate-friendly projects.

Look at the story about it.

Swiss International Cooperation

Annual report 2021

07.07.2022 - Integrated urban development in Tunisia, better gold in South America or global environmental impact investing. Such issues shaped the Swiss economic development cooperation. The annual report 2021 tells stories about how Switzerland reduces poverty and mitigates global risks.

Sustainable Landscape Program in Indonesia

Call for Proposals

28.06.2022 - SECO has launched a Call for Proposals for the implementation of the Sustainable Landscape Program in Indonesia. The program addresses multifaceted challenges of Indonesian commodity producers in a holistic way. Submission deadline is the 21st of August 2022.

Bilateral and multilateral commitment

Swiss support to Ukraine

10.06.2022 - Ukraine is a priority country in terms of Swiss transition cooperation with Eastern Europe. The majority of Swiss projects are able to continue despite the war. They are continually being adapted to the difficult conditions. As a result of the war, Switzerland is also supporting Ukraine at the multilateral level.

Swiss Cooperation Programmes 2022-2025

Kosovo

Renewed cooperation with Albania, Kosovo and Serbia

22.05.11.2022 – SECO and the SDC have renewed their cooperation programmes with Albania, Kosovo and Serbia. Through the new programmes, Switzerland is helping to shape a sustainable economy, strengthen democratic governance and respond to the challenges of climate change in these three countries.

2022 Annual Meeting of EBRD

10 million francs for Ukraine

11.05.2022 - At the 2022 Annual Meeting of EBRD Governors in Marrakech, Switzerland welcomed the measures being undertaken by the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) to support Ukraine. Switzerland is contributing CHF10 million to these measures. Switzerland also calls on the EBRD to concentrate its activities on Ukraine and the existing countries of operations.

Spring Meetings IMF and World Bank Group

Ukraine, digitalisation and the global debt situation

22.04.2022 – At the World Bank Group Spring Meetings, the development committee discussed the impact of the war in Ukraine, digitalisation and the global debt situation. Switzerland welcomed the measures taken by the World Bank Group to support Ukraine.

Switzerland's official development assistance

3'589 billion or 0.51 percent

12.04.2022 - In 2021, Swiss official development assistance (ODA) amounted to CHF 3.589 billion, CHF 243 million more than in 2020. As a share of gross national income, Swiss ODA totalled 0.51%.

SECO's commitment against climate change

SECO's commitment against climate change

28.03.2022 - The severe effects of climate change have hit the poorest countries particulary hard. SECO supports developing countries in emitting fewer greenhouse gases and adapting to climate change.

Learn more about SECO's commitment against climate change.

Sustainable Development Goals Impact Finance Initiative

Call for proposals for innovative impact finance solutions

22.03.2022 - The SDG Impact Finance Initiative, announced its first call for proposals, preparing to award grants for innovative impact finance solutions. The launch comes three months after SECO, UBS Optimus Foundation, Credit Suisse Foundation and SDC launched the Initiative. It aims to mobilize up to one billion Swiss francs in private capital by 2030 to advance measurable impact in developing countries.

International Cooperation Forum

The Youth and Future Prize "Together we're better"

01.03.2022 - The Youth and Future Prize "Together we're better", launched for the second time by SECO and the SDC, sparked great interest. A total of 62 entries from young people were received. Their goal: to contribute to sustainable development and the reduction of poverty in a country where Switzerland is engaged in international cooperation. The prizes will be presented on 31 March 2022 at the International Cooperation Forum.

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/en/home/archiv/im-brennpunkt-2022.html

Archiv «Im Brennpunkt» 2022

Das SECO auf Instagram

Geschichten der wirtschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung

09.11.2022 – SECO Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung ist jetzt auf Instagram. Folgen Sie den Geschichten und entdecken Sie das Gesicht der wirtschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung der Schweiz.  

Jahresversammlung Weltbankgruppe

Ukraine, Ernährungs- und Energiekrise, Klimafinanzierung

14.10.2022 – An der Jahresversammlung der Weltbankgruppe (WBG) wurden die Auswirkungen des Krieges in der Ukraine, die globale Ernährungs- und Energiekrise und die Klimafinanzierung diskutiert. Die Schweiz befürwortete die finanzielle, politische und technische Unterstützung der Ukraine. Sie sprach sich auch dafür aus, erneuerbare Energien auszubauen und eine nachhaltige, umweltschonende Landwirtschaft zu fördern.  

Building Bridges 2022

Ökologie, Soziales und gute Unternehmensführung

06.10.2022 - An der Veranstaltung Building Bridges 2022 plädierte Staatssekretärin Helene Budliger Artieda dafür,  ökologische und soziale Aspekte sowie eine gute Unternehmensführung in der Wirtschaftspolitik und bei Investitionsentscheiden stärker zu berücksichtigen. Das SECO informierte über die Entwicklung der 2021 lancierten SDG Impact Finance Initiative.

Asiatische Entwicklungsbank

Jahrestagung 2022

27.09.2022 – Die Gouverneure der Asiatischen Entwicklungsbank (ADB), zu denen auch die Schweiz gehört, trafen sich zur Jahrestagung in Manila, um nachhaltiges, grünes Wachstum in der Region Asien und Pazifik nach Covid-19 auszuloten. Themen waren die Nahrungsmittelknappheit und die Rolle der Bank bei der Klimafinanzierung. Die Schweiz setzt sich insbesondere für starke Partnerschaften und die Bekämpfung des Klimawandels ein.  

Internationale Finanzkorporation (IFC)

Strategische und operationelle Zusammenarbeit

20.09.2022 – Am Partnerschaftstreffen in Bern haben sich das SECO und die Internationalen Finanzkorporation zur strategischen und operationellen Zusammenarbeit ausgetauscht. Gemeinsam engagieren sich beide für einen produktiven Privatsektor, die Schaffung guter Investitionsbedingungen und eine nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung weltweit.  

European politics - Second Swiss contribution

Arbeiter bei der Installation von Fotovoltaikanlagen in Niepolomice, Polen

Programme können gestartet werden

31.08.2022 – Im Rahmen des zweiten Schweizer Beitrags hat der Bundesrat die bilateralen Umsetzungsabkommen im Bereich der Kohäsion zwischen der Schweiz und Bulgarien, Estland, Kroatien, Malta, Polen, Rumänien, Ungarn und Zypern genehmigt. Damit kann der zweite Schweizer Beitrag nun operationell umgesetzt werden. 

Das Klima-Engagement des SECO

Für eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft

16.08.2022 – Das SECO unterstützt Entwicklungsländer, ihre Wirtschaft kohlestoffarm und widerstandsfähig zu gestalten. Es berücksichtigt bei allen Aktivitäten systematisch die Risiken für das Klima und sucht nach Möglichkeiten, die Emissionen von Treibhausgasen zu reduzieren. Zudem mobilisiert es zusammen mit Partnern klimafreundliche Investitionen aus dem Privatsektor.
Sehen Sie sich die Geschichte dazu an. 

Internationale Zusammenarbeit der Schweiz

Jahresbericht 2021

07.07.2022 – Integrierte Stadtentwicklung in Tunesien, besseres Gold aus Südamerika oder weltweite Investitionen mit gesellschaftlicher und ökologischer Wirkung. Solche Themen prägten die wirtschaftliche Entwicklungs-Zusammenarbeit der Schweiz 2021. Der Jahresbericht 2021 erzählt Geschichten, wie die Schweiz Armut reduzieren hilft und globalen Risiken begegnet.   

Sustainable Landscape Program in Indonesien

Call for Proposals

28.06.2022 - Das SECO hat einen Call for Proposals ausgeschrieben. Dabei geht es um Vorschläge, wie das Sustainable Landscape Program in Indonesien umgesetzt werden kann. Dieses Programm adressiert die vielfältigen Herausforderungen der indonesischen Rohstoffproduzenten. Die Frist für die Eingabe von Vorschlägen endet am 21. August 2022.  

Bilaterales und multilaterales Engagement

Das SECO unterstützt die Ukraine

10.06.2022 – Die Mehrzahl der Schweizer Projekte in der Ukraine können trotz des Krieges weitergeführt werden. Sie werden laufend an die schwierigen Bedingungen angepasst. Die Schweiz unterstützt die Ukraine infolge des Krieges auch auf multilateraler Ebene.  

Kooperationsprogramme 2022-2025

Kosovo

Erneuerte Zusammenarbeit mit Albanien, Kosovo und Serbien

22.05.11.2022 – Das SECO und die DEZA haben ihre Kooperationsprogramme mit Albanien, Kosovo und Serbien erneuert. Mit den neuen Programmen 2022-2025 unterstützt die Schweiz die Länder unter anderem dabei, eine nachhaltige Wirtschaft zu gestalten, die demokratische Regierungsführung zu stärken und den Herausforderungen des Klimawandel zu begegnen.

EBRD-Jahrestagung 2022

10 Millionen Franken für die Ukraine

11.05.2022 - An der Jahrestagung der Gouverneure der Europäischen Bank für Wiederaufbau und Entwicklung (EBRD) in Marrakesch begrüsst die Schweiz die Massnahmen, mit denen die EBRD die Ukraine unterstützt. Die Schweiz beteiligt sich mit 10 Millionen Franken an diesen Massnahmen. Die Schweiz fordert die EBRD zudem auf, ihre Tätigkeiten auf die Ukraine und die bereits bestehenden Einsatzländer zu konzentrieren.

Frühjahrstagung Weltbankgruppe

Ukraine, Digitalisierung und globale Schuldensituation

22.04.2022 – An der Frühjahrstagung der Weltbankgruppe wurden die Auswirkungen des Krieges in der Ukraine, die Digitalisierung und die globale Verschuldungslage diskutiert. Die Schweiz begrüsst die umfangreichen Massnahmen der Weltbank zur Unterstützung der Ukraine.

Öffentliche Entwicklungshilfe der Schweiz

3,589 Milliarden Franken für die öffentliche Entwicklungshilfe

12.04.2022 - 2021 wendete die Schweiz 3,589 Milliarden Franken für die öffentliche Entwicklungshilfe (APD) auf. Das sind 243 Millionen Franken mehr als im Vorjahr. Der Anteil der Schweizer APD am Bruttonationaleinkommen betrug 0,51%.

Klima-Engagement des SECO

Klima-Engagement des SECO

28.03.2022 - Die ärmsten Länder sind von den gravierenden Auswirkungen des Klimawandels besonders stark betroffen. Das SECO unterstützt Entwicklungsländer, weniger Treibhausgasse auszustossen und sich an den Klimawandel anzupassen.

Erfahren Sie mehr zum Klima-Engagement des SECO.

 

Sustainable Development Goals Impact Finance Initiative

Ausschreibung für innovative Lösungen im Bereich Impact Investing

22.03.2022 - Die Sustainable Development Goal Impact Finance Initiative hat ihre erste Ausschreibung für innovative Lösungen im Bereich Impact Finance lanciert. Die unter anderen vom SECO ins Leben gerufene Initiative will bis 2030 bis zu einer Milliarde Schweizer Franken an privatem Kapital mobilisieren, um die Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) in Entwicklungsländern zu erreichen.

International Cooperation Forum

Jugend- und Zukunftspreis "Together we're better"

01.03.2022 - Der Jugend- und Zukunftspreis "Together we’re better", zum zweiten Mal lanciert von SECO und DEZA, ist auf grosses Interesse gestossen. 62 Wettbewerbsbeiträge gingen ein. Ihr Ziel: zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung und Armutsbekämpfung in einem Land der internationalen Zusammenarbeit beitragen. Die Preise werden am 31. März 2022 am International Cooperation Forum verliehen.

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/de/home/archiv/im-brennpunkt-2022.html