Ghana

Ghana is a priority country of SECO’s economic cooperation and development. After two decades of relative economic success, Ghana now faces a variety of challenges. SECO supports public institutions in their efforts to deliver efficient services. It is also supporting Ghana in diversifying its economy and making it more competitive.

Ghana is regarded as a model of democracy and stability among African nations. Over the past 15 years, per capita income has grown by an average of 4% p.a. This resulted from a combination of high commodity prices, good trade conditions, macroeconomic stability and structural reforms.

Street with many vehicles and people in a city
Towns are growing rapidly in Ghana, raising enormous challenges.

Austerity measures weaken growth

Even though Ghana’s economy has developed positively for many years and the country joined the list of middle-income countries (MICs) in 2010, it is suffering a macroeconomic crisis. The business environment has deteriorated and public debt have risen substantially. The government was forced to introduce austerity measures, which also affect the private sector negatively. This has led to growth declining in recent years. Businesses have greater difficulties to get loans. Other challenges for the country are the huge regional disparities, rapid urbanisation as well as climate related risks, such as flooding or drought.

What are SECO’s objectives?

Strong institutions for reliable public services

SECO supports Ghana in managing its public finances better. In particular, it is helping national and local authorities to mobilise tax revenues effectively and transparently, and to target their spending towards better value for money. It is also committed to helping cities grow sustainably and guarantee a reliable energy supply for households and businesses.

A more competitive broad-based private sector

SECO supports SMEs to become more competitive internationally. It contributes to improving the investment climate and business environment and to implementing international trade standards. Furthermore, SECO fosters selected value chains. It helps SMEs access the international markets and get the capital they need to grow.

From 2017 to 2020, a total of some CHF 75 million is earmarked for SECO’s economic development cooperation with Ghana.

Last modification 10.09.2019

Top of page

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/en/home/laender/ghana.html

Ghana

Ghana ist ein Schwerpunktland der wirtschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung des SECO. Nach zwei wirtschaftlich relativ erfolgreichen Jahrzehnten hat Ghana mit verschiedenen Herausforderungen zu kämpfen. Das SECO stärkt ghanaische Institutionen, funktionierende öffentliche Dienstleistungen zu erbringen. Zudem unterstützt es Ghana, seine Wirtschaft wettbewerbsfähiger zu machen und zu diversifizieren.

Ghana ist ein Vorzeigeland bezüglich Demokratie und Stabilität in Afrika. Das Einkommen wuchs in den letzten 15 Jahren im Durchschnitt um jährlich 4% pro Kopf. Dies war die Folge von hohen Rohstoffpreisen, guten Handelsbedingungen, makroökonomischer Stabilität sowie strukturellen Reformen.

Strasse mit vielen Fahrzeugen und Menschen in einer Stadt
Städte wachsen in Ghana sehr schnell, was grosse Herausforderungen mit sich bringt.

Sparmassnahmen dämpfen das Wachstum  

Obwohl sich Ghana lange Zeit wirtschaftlich positiv entwickelt hat und 2010 in die Kategorie der Länder mit mittlerem Einkommen aufgestiegen ist, plagt das Land nun eine makroökonomische Krise. Das Umfeld hat sich verschlechtert und die staatliche Verschuldung ist stark angestiegen. Deshalb musste die Regierung Sparmassnahmen einleiten, welche auch den Privatsektor treffen. Daher sank das Wachstum in den letzten Jahren. Unternehmen haben es schwieriger, zu Krediten zu kommen. Zudem gibt es starke regionale Ungleichheiten, eine schnelle Verstädterung und klimabedingte Risiken – beispielsweise Überschwemmungen oder Dürren – zu bewältigen.

Welche Ziele verfolgt das SECO?

Starke Institutionen für verlässliche öffentliche Dienstleistungen

Das SECO unterstützt Ghana bei der Verwaltung seiner öffentlichen Finanzen. Vor allem hilft es nationalen und lokalen Behörden dabei, Einnahmen effektiv und transparent zu mobilisieren und Ausgaben effizient und zielführend zu tätigen. Zudem engagiert es sich, damit sich Städte nachhaltig entwickeln können und Bevölkerung und Wirtschaft verlässlich mit Energie versorgt werden.

Wettbewerbsfähiger und breit abgestützter Privatsektor

Das SECO unterstützt die internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von KMU. Es trägt dazu bei, dass Investitionsklima und Geschäftsumfeld verbessert und internationale Handelsstandards umgesetzt werden. Ferner fördert das SECO ausgewählte Wertschöpfungsketten. Schliesslich arbeitet es daran, dass KMU mit ihren Produkten Zugang zu internationalen Märkten bekommen und mit Kapital versorgt werden.

Zwischen 2017 und 2020 sind insgesamt ca. 75 Millionen Franken für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit des SECO mit Ghana vorgesehen.

Letzte Änderung 14.11.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/de/home/laender/ghana.html