Peru

Peru is a priority country of SECO’s economic cooperation and development. The Peruvian economy has shown steady growth in recent years. However, in 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic hit the country hard, heavily affecting growth rates and threatening to reverse the progress in reducing inequality of the past 20 years. SECO supports Peru’s economic development by fostering resilient subnational growth hubs and a competitive, innovative and sustainable private sector.



Opportunities and challenges

The Peruvian economy faces several challenges: First, the capital city Lima remains the countries’ single most important source of growth and employment (one-third of Peru’s population lives in Lima). It therefore constitutes a bulk risk to the economy, also because Lima is highly vulnerable to climate change and natural disasters. Second, Peru’s economy remains heavily dependent on commodity exports, mainly gold.

Peru aims to diversify its sources of growth in geographic terms by developing economic hubs outside of Lima and by improving the resilience of its economy. The government assigns a high priority to advance decentralisation, to diversify the Peruvian economy, to increase the productivity of firms and to strengthen international competitiveness.

What are SECO’s objectives?

SECO supports the country’s efforts and promotes:

  • Resilient subnational growth hubs
    SECO contributes to an effective, green and transparent use of public resources at the national and subnational level. It collaborates with the Peruvian Government and the private sector to improve urban infrastructure. Concretely, SECO supports emerging medium-sized towns in their ability to provide basic public services, such as clean water, sanitation and mobility.
  • A competitive, innovative and sustainable private sector
    SECO pushes for policy reforms to improve the business environment for the private sector and the investment climate. Furthermore, SECO promotes the strengthening of selected value chains and supports an increase in the international competitiveness of Peru’s private sector.

From 2021 to 2024, a total of some CHF 75 million is foreseen for SECO’s economic development cooperation with Peru.

Last modification 21.06.2021

Top of page

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/en/home/laender/peru.html

Peru

Peru ist ein Schwerpunktland der wirtschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung des SECO. Die peruanische Wirtschaft weist seit Jahren ein konstantes Wachstum auf. Jedoch führte die Corona-Pandemie zu einem starken Wirtschaftseinbruch. Dieser bedroht die Fortschritte der vergangenen 20 Jahre im Abbau von Ungleichheit. Das SECO unterstützt daher die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung Perus durch die Förderung resilienter subnationaler Wachstumszentren und eines wettbewerbsfähigen, innovativen und nachhaltigen Privatsektors.



Chancen und Herausforderungen

Die peruanische Wirtschaft steht vor mehreren Herausforderungen. Zum einen ist die Hauptstadt Lima noch immer das bedeutendste Zentrum für Wachstum und Beschäftigung im Land (ein Drittel der peruanischen Bevölkerung lebt in Lima). Die Stadt stellt daher ein Klumpenrisiko für die Wirtschaft dar, zumal Lima auch stark von den Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und von Naturkatastrophen bedroht ist. Zum anderen ist die Wirtschaft Perus nach wie vor stark abhängig von Rohstoffexporten, vor allem von Gold.

Peru möchte auch ausserhalb von Lima Wachstumszentren entwickeln und so seine Wirtschaft widerstandsfähiger machen. Reformen im Bereich der Dezentralisierung haben daher hohe Priorität für die peruanische Regierung. Gleichzeitig soll die Wirtschaft diversifiziert, die Produktivität von Unternehmen gesteigert und die internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit gestärkt werden. Das SECO unterstützt Peru in den folgenden Gebieten:  

  • Schaffung von resilienten subnationalen Wachstumszentren
    Das SECO fördert eine effektive, umweltfreundliche und transparente Nutzung öffentlicher Ressourcen auf nationaler und subnationaler Ebene. Gemeinsam mit der peruanischen Regierung und dem Privatsektor arbeitet es an der Verbesserung städtischer Infrastruktur. Konkret unterstützt das SECO aufstrebende mittelgrosse Städte bei der Bereitstellung öffentlicher Dienstleistungen wie sauberes Wasser, Abwasser- und Abfallentsorgung sowie Mobilität.
  • Förderung eines wettbewerbsfähigen, innovativen und nachhaltig wirtschaftenden Privatsektors 
    Das SECO unterstützt die Umsetzung politischer Reformen, mit denen das Geschäftsumfeld für den Privatsektor und das Investitionsklima verbessert werden können. Darüber hinaus fördert es die Stärkung ausgewählter Wertschöpfungsketten und hilft, den peruanischen Privatsektor wettbewerbsfähiger zu machen.

Für den Zeitraum von 2021 bis 2024 sind insgesamt 75 Millionen Franken für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit des SECO mit Peru vorgesehen.

Letzte Änderung 05.08.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/de/home/laender/peru.html