South Africa

South Africa is a priority country of SECO’s economic cooperation and development. More than 25 years after a largely peaceful transition that ended Apartheid, the country remains a lively and functioning democracy.  To support the country in tackling various challenges, SECO supports South Africa to promote a more viable and resource-efficient private sector and reliable economic framework conditions.  

South Africa is the second largest economy on the continent with a well-developed infrastructure in its large urban centres, a solid financial sector, excellent academic institutions and a resource-rich environment. Strong democratic institutions, an independent judiciary, critical and free media and an engaged citizenry have been the greatest achievements since the founding elections of 1994. In addition, South Africa has made significant strides towards increasing the access to basic education, primary healthcare, establishing a large free basic services programme in poor communities and broadening social protection through grants.  

Johannesburg skyline
SECO promotes sustainable urban development in South Africa.

Over half of the young people are unemployed

Today, however, South Africa is facing an extraordinary set of challenges. Nowhere else in the world inequality is as high as in South Africa. During the last decade, there has been consistent low growth, an increasing dependence on the informal sector and a weakening of political institutions. The legacy of the Apartheid-era spatial planning is still hampering the competitiveness of urban areas, revealing a critical need for better and more inclusive infrastructure development. Further, the fiscal position is deteriorating, resulting from weak economic growth and the precarious finances of state-owned enterprises. Poverty has remained high and the unemployment rate has reached 30 percent overall, with over 50 percent for young people.

What are SECO’s objectives?

SECO supports South Africa in:

  • Promoting a viable and resource-efficient private sectorSECO supports capable and innovative entrepreneurs, and fosters access to sustainable value chains and global markets. Through improved entrepreneurial capacity and the use of modern technology, the private sector will be able to improve resource efficiency (e.g., water use), reduce costs and create jobs.
  • Establishing favourable economic framework conditions  SECO supports a sound business-enabling and investment-friendly environment with transparent, predictable and simple procedures. This will incentivise innovation, unlock the potential of small, medium and micro enterprises and improve the competitiveness of the economy.

From 2021 to 2024, a total of some CHF 55 million is foreseen for SECO’s economic development cooperation with South Africa.

Last modification 03.03.2021

Top of page

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/en/home/laender/suedafrika.html

Südafrika

Südafrika ist ein Schwerpunktland der wirtschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung des SECO. Mehr als 25 Jahre nach einem grösstenteils friedlichen Regimewechsel, der das Ende der Apartheid einläutete, ist das Land heute eine lebendige und funktionierende Demokratie. Um das Land bei der Bewältigung diverser Herausforderungen zu unterstützen, setzt sich das SECO für zuverlässige wirtschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen und einen robusten Privatsektor ein, der Ressourcen effizient nutzt.



Chancen und Herausforderungen

Die Wirtschaft Südafrikas ist die zweitgrösste auf dem Kontinent. Die grossen Städte weisen eine gut entwickelte Infrastruktur auf. Der südafrikanische Finanzsektor ist solid, die Bildungseinrichtungen ausgezeichnet und das Land ist reich an Bodenschätzen. Starke demokratische Institutionen, eine unabhängige Justiz, kritische und freie Medien und engagierte Bürger gehören seit 1994 zu den grössten Erungenschaften des südafrikanischen Staats. Darüber hinaus hat Südafrika grosse Fortschritte erzielt beim Zugang zu Bildung und medizinischer Grundversorgung, bei der Bereitstellung kostenloser Dienstleistungen in armen Kommunen und bei der sozialen Absicherung.

Dennoch sieht sich Südafrika mit Problemen konfrontiert. Die Ungleichheit ist nirgendwo auf der Welt so ausgeprägt wie in Südafrika. Das vergangene Jahrzehnt war zudem geprägt von anhaltend schwachem Wachstum, einer zunehmenden Abhängigkeit von der Schattenwirtschaft und einer Schwächung politischer Institutionen. Die Folgen der Raumplanung in der Apartheid-Ära behindern noch immer die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit städtischer Gebiete. Infrastruktur, die für alle zugänglich ist, muss ausgebaut werden. Auch die finanzielle Situation des Landes wird zunehmend instabil. Gründe hierfür sind das schwache Wirtschaftswachstum und die prekären Finanzen staatlicher Unternehmen. Armut ist nach wie vor weit verbreitet und die Arbeitslosenquote ist auf 30 Prozent angestiegen, bei jungen Menschen sogar auf 50 Prozent.

Welche Ziele verfolgt das SECO?

Das SECO setzt sich in Südafrika für Folgendes ein: 

  • Funktionsfähiger, ressourceneffizienter Privatsektor
    Das SECO unterstützt kompetente und innovative Unternehmen und fördert den Zugang zu nachhaltigen Wertschöpfungsketten und globalen Märkten. Mit Hilfe von besseren unternehmerischen Fähigkeiten und moderner Technologie kann der Privatsektor seine Ressourceneffizienz (z. B. in der Wassernutzung) optimieren, Kosten senken und neue Arbeitsplätze schaffen.
  • Günstige wirtschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen
    Das SECO unterstützt ein geschäfts- und investitionsfreundliches Umfeld mit transparenten, vorhersehbaren und einfachen Abläufen. So werden Anreize für Innovation geschaffen, das Potenzial kleiner, mittlerer und sehr kleiner Unternehmen erschlossen und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Wirtschaft insgesamt gesteigert.

Für den Zeitraum von 2021 bis 2024 sind insgesamt 55 Millionen Franken für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit des SECO mit Südafrika vorgesehen.

Letzte Änderung 21.06.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/de/home/laender/suedafrika.html