Ukraine

Ukraine is a priority country of Switzerland’s transition cooperation with Eastern Europe. Switzerland supports Ukraine on its path towards peace and sustainable development by building an inclusive society where all women and men equally contribute to and benefit from public integrity and sustainable growth.

Ukraine remains the second-poorest country in Europe. Over the last few years, GDP has grown slowly but steadily. The currency has been fairly stable and inflation has been kept low. However, the country is heavily indebted. Besides the ongoing conflict in Eastern Ukraine, a number of factors constrain the realisation of Ukraine’s substantial economic potential. The large shadow economy (40 percent of GDP), the emigration of skilled workers and insufficient investment in urban infrastructure hamper productivity.

Woman in front of laptop, Ukrainian university
Skills on conflict resolution and mediation can be acquired at Ukrainian universities.

What are SECO’s objectives?

SECO, the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) and the Peace and Human Rights Division (PHRD) jointly implement the Swiss Cooperation Programme in Ukraine. Swiss support in Ukraine concentrates on local governance, peacebuilding, sustainable economic development and health. To foster sustainable economic development, SECO focuses on:

  • Sustainable cities
    The objective is to accelerate a resource-efficient and climate-friendly economic growth, as well as improving quality of life in the cities. Better energy management, integrated urban development and sustainable mobility form the cornerstones of Switzerland's contribution. In the long term, this multi-dimensional approach to promoting a green economy should make Ukraine's cities more attractive to the local population and investors.
  • Competitiveness of small and medium-sized enterprises
    The main objective is to achieve broad-based economic growth and, in particular, to harness the potential of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). This involves enhancing overall competitiveness and creating suitable framework conditions. Switzerland's efforts in this area focus on integrating the products of agricultural SMEs into sustainable value chains and facilitating access to financial services. This includes working with the financial sector to develop innovative financial products. Switzerland is also assisting national authorities in implementing effective financial and monetary policies as well as in creating a pro-competitive regulatory environment.
  • Effective democratic governance and efficient public management
    Switzerland aims in general at promoting transparent and effective public institutions, both at the national and sub-national levels. SECO specifically supports the improvement of public financial management at local level, in view of providing public services efficiently and inclusively.

From 2020 to 2023, a total of some CHF 108 million is foreseen for Swiss transition cooperation with Ukraine, of which around CHF 51 million are from SECO.

Last modification 15.09.2021

Top of page

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/en/home/laender/ukraine.html

Ukraine

Die Ukraine ist ein Schwerpunktland der Schweizer Transitionszusammenarbeit mit Osteuropa. Die Schweiz unterstützt die Ukraine auf ihrem Weg zu Frieden und einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung. Sie wirkt am Aufbau einer inklusiven Gesellschaft mit, in der Frauen und Männer gleichermassen zu öffentlicher Integrität und einem nachhaltigen Wachstum beitragen und daran teilhaben.

Die Ukraine ist das zweitärmste Land Europas. In den vergangenen Jahren ist das BIP langsam aber stetig gestiegen, die Währung blieb relativ stabil und die Inflation auf niedrigem Niveau. Jedoch ist das Land hoch verschuldet. Neben dem andauernden Konflikt in der Ostukraine gibt es weitere Faktoren, die eine Ausschöpfung des bedeutenden wirtschaftlichen Potenzials der Ukraine behindern. Eine grosse Schattenwirtschaft (40 Prozent des BIP), die Abwanderung von Fachkräften und unzureichende Investitionen in städtische Infrastruktur hemmen die Produktivität.

Frau vor Laptop, ukrainische Universität
An ukrainischen Universitäten können Qualifikationen in den Bereichen Konfliktlösung und Mediation erworben werden.

Welche Ziele verfolgt das SECO?

Das SECO, die Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA) und die Abteilung Frieden und Menschenrechte (AFM) legen die Schweizer Kooperationsstrategie in der Ukraine gemeinsam fest und setzen sie um. Die Schweiz konzentriert sich dabei auf die Verbesserung der lokalen Gouvernanz, die Friedenskonsolidierung, ein nachhaltiges Wirtschaftswachstum und Gesundheit. Um eine nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung zu fördern, setzt das SECO folgende Schwerpunkte:

  • Nachhaltige Städte
    Das Ziel ist ein schnelleres, ressourceneffizientes und klimafreundliches Wirtschaftswachstum sowie eine Verbesserung der Lebensqualität in den Städten. Besseres Energiemanagement, integrierte Stadtentwicklung und nachhaltige Mobilität sind die Eckpfeiler des Schweizer Engagements. Langfristig sollen die Städte der Ukraine mit diesem multidimensionalen Ansatz zur Förderung einer grünen Wirtschaft attraktiver werden für die örtliche Bevölkerung und auch für Investoren.
  • Wettbewerbsfähigkeit kleiner und mittlerer Unternehmen
    Zu den wichtigsten Zielen gehören ein Wirtschaftswachstum auf breiter Basis und insbesondere die Nutzung des Potenzials kleiner und mittlerer Unternehmen (KMU). Dazu gehören auch die Verbesserung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und die Schaffung geeigneter Rahmenbedingungen. Dabei fördert die Schweiz die Integration der Produkte von Agrar-KMU in nachhaltige Wertschöpfungsketten und einen erleichterten Zugang zu Finanzdienstleistungen. In diesem Zusammenhang sollen gemeinsam mit dem ukrainischen Finanzsektor auch innovative Finanzprodukte entwickelt werden. Darüber hinaus unterstützt die Schweiz nationale Behörden bei der Umsetzung einer effektiven Finanz- und Geldpolitik sowie der Schaffung eines wettbewerbsfreundlichen regulatorischen Umfelds.
  • Effektive demokratische Staatsführung und effiziente öffentliche Verwaltung
    Die Schweiz fördert transparente und effektive öffentliche Institutionen auf nationaler und subnationaler Ebene. Konkret unterstützt das SECO die Verbesserung des öffentlichen Finanzmanagements auf lokaler Ebene mit dem Ziel einer effizienten und inklusiven Bereitstellung öffentlicher Dienstleistungen. 

Für den Zeitraum von 2020 bis 2023 sind insgesamt 108 Millionen Franken für die Schweizer Transitionszusammenarbeit mit der Ukraine vorgesehen, davon rund 51 Millionen Franken seitens des SECO.

Letzte Änderung 07.05.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/de/home/laender/ukraine.html