Vietnam

Vietnam is a priority country of SECO’s economic cooperation and development. Despite an overall positive economic development, Vietnam’s productivity growth remains slow. SECO has three objectives here: a more efficient use of public resources, improved competitiveness of the private sector and sustainable urban development.

The government of Vietnam has introduced cautious market-oriented reforms over the past 30 years. This has led to a considerable reduction in poverty and the development of a more open economy. Per capita income has risen constantly by around 5% p.a. over the past 20 years. Labour-intensive sectors, such as the garment industry, have contributed most to this growth.

Woman working in a timber plant
SECO supports SMEs in Vietnam.

Remaining challenges require further reaching reforms

Nevertheless, Vietnam continues to face a number of important challenges and much remains to be done to sustain long-term economic growth. State-owned enterprises with low productivity continue to have privileged access to resources with a negative impact on development. SMEs have a weak competitive standing, in particular in terms of participation in global value chains, and find it difficult to find skilled workers. Moreover, the country faces regional disparities. Also, on account of its long coastal line and the low lying Mekong and Red River delta, Vietnam is particularly susceptible to climate-related disasters.

What are SECO’s objectives?

Effective economic policies and institutions

SECO supports public-sector reforms targeting more efficient and effective use of public resources. Moreover, it promotes a well-developed financial sector. Thereby, SECO fosters access to capital for growing businesses.

A competitive private sector

SECO supports Vietnam’s private sector, in particular SMEs, to improve competitiveness and gain access to international markets. It fosters sustainable trade and investment as well as resource-efficient industrial production.

Sustainable urban development

SECO supports Vietnam’s fast growing cities in sustaining their role as economic and social hubs. It promotes long-term urban planning. Moreover, SECO helps cities deliver reliable public services in the waste and transport sector.

Apart from SECO, the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) from the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs also operates in Vietnam through global programmes.

From 2017 to 2020, a total of some CHF 80 million is earmarked for SECO’s economic development cooperation with Vietnam.

Last modification 10.09.2019

Top of page

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/en/home/laender/vietnam.html

Vietnam

Vietnam ist ein Schwerpunktland der wirtschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung. Trotz einer insgesamt positiven wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung wächst die vietnamesische Produktivität nur langsam. Das SECO verfolgt deshalb drei Ziele: öffentliche Ressourcen effizienter einzusetzen, den Privatsektor wettbewerbsfähiger zu machen und sicherzustellen, dass sich Städte nachhaltig entwickeln.

In den letzten 30 Jahren leitete die vietnamesische Regierung vorsichtige marktwirtschaftliche Reformen ein. So konnte die Armut erheblich reduziert und eine weltoffenere Wirtschaft aufgebaut werden. Seit 20 Jahren wächst das Einkommen pro Kopf relativ konstant um rund 5% jährlich. Vor allem arbeitsintensive Branchen wie die Textilindustrie tragen dazu bei.

Frau bei Arbeit in Holzfabrik
Das SECO unterstützt KMU in Vietnam.

Bleibende Herausforderungen verlangen weiter reichende Reformen

Trotzdem steht Vietnam weiterhin vor vielen grossen Herausforderungen. Um den Wirtschaftsaufschwung nachhaltig zu sichern, muss aber noch viel getan werden. Staatliche Unternehmen mit einer tiefen Produktivität haben noch immer einen privilegierten Zugang zu Ressourcen. Dies wirkt sich negativ auf die Entwicklung aus. KMU sind wenig wettbewerbsfähig, vor allem im Rahmen globaler Wertschöpfungsketten. Sie haben Mühe, gut ausgebildete Arbeitskräfte zu finden. Das Land kennt regionale Ungleichheiten. Zudem ist Vietnam durch seinen langen Küstenstreifen und das tief liegende Mekong und Red River Delta anfällig für klimabedingte Katastrophen.

Welche Ziele verfolgt das SECO?

Wirksame Wirtschaftspolitik und Institutionen

Das SECO unterstützt Reformen im öffentlichen Sektor, um öffentliche Ressourcen effizienter und effektiver einzusetzen. Darüber hinaus fördert es einen gut ausgebauten Finanzsektor. Dazu verbessert das SECO den Zugang zu Kapital für wachsende Unternehmen.

Wettbewerbsfähiger Privatsektor

Das SECO hilft dem vietnamesischen Privatsektor und insbesondere KMU dabei, wettbewerbsfähiger zu werden und besseren Zugang zu internationalen Märkten zu bekommen. Es fördert nachhaltigen Handel und Investitionen sowie eine ressourcen-effiziente industrielle Produktion.

Nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung

Das SECO stärkt Vietnams schnell wachsende Städte in ihrer Rolle als wirtschaftliche und soziale Zentren. Es fördert eine langfristige Stadtplanung. Darüber hinaus unterstützt das SECO die Städte dabei, verlässliche öffentliche Dienstleistungen in den Bereichen Abfallentsorgung und Transport bereitzustellen.

Neben dem SECO ist in Vietnam auch die Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit (DEZA) des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten mit globalen Programmen aktiv.

Zwischen 2017 und 2020 sind insgesamt ca. 80 Millionen Franken für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit des SECO mit Vietnam vorgesehen.

Letzte Änderung 10.09.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/de/home/laender/vietnam.html