International Development Association

With the International Development Association (IDA), the World Bank has a separate funding window, which gives the world’s 76 poorest countries concessional loans and non-repayable grants. It provides support for health and education, infrastructure and agriculture, and economic and institutional development. IDA credits have a zero or very low interest charge and repayments are stretched over 25 to 40 years, including a 5 to 10 year grace period.

In addition to concessional loans and grants, IDA provides significant levels of debt relief through the Heavily Indebted Poor Countries Initiative and the Multilateral Debt Relief Initiative.

The resources of IDA are replenished every three years by donor countries. These replenishment negotiations are an opportunity to discuss the strategic and operational orientation of the fund. The last negotiations were concluded end 2019.

Scultpure of the IDA logo.
Since 1960, IDA has transformed societies and lifted millions out of poverty.
© Simone D. McCourtie / World Bank

Switzerland has helped to reinforce the World Bank’s commitment to gender equality to such a degree that gender equality indicators are now binding for all IDA programmes.


Switzerland and the IDA

Switzerland has been a member of IDA since 1992. Thanks to the IDA’s financial strength and expertise in addressing poverty and other global issues, the Swiss contribution to IDA is an important complement of Swiss bilateral aid.

Last modification 14.10.2020

Top of page

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/en/home/themen/multilaterale-zusammenarbeit/schweizer-mdb-einsitz/weltbankgruppe/ida.html

Internationale Entwicklungsorganisation

Die Internationale Entwicklungsorganisation (IDA) ist ein separates Finanzierungsfenster der Weltbank, mit der die 77 ärmsten Länder der Welt Vorzugsdarlehen und nicht rückzahlbare Zuschüsse erhalten. Die IDA unterstützt Projekte in den Bereichen Gesundheit und Bildung, Infrastruktur und Landwirtschaft sowie wirtschaftlicher und institutioneller Entwicklung. Kredite der IDA tragen keine oder sehr niedrige Zinslast und Rückzahlungen können über einen Zeitraum von 25 bis 40 Jahre geleistet werden, inklusive einer Wartefrist von 5 bis 10 Jahren.  

Neben den Vorzugsdarlehen und Zuschüssen verfügt die IDA auch über wichtige Instrumente für Schuldenerlass durch die Initiative zur Entschuldung hochverschuldeter, armer Länder und der multilateralen Schuldenerlass-Initiative.

Die Ressourcen von IDA werden von den Geberländern alle drei Jahre aufgefüllt. Die Verhandlungen zur Wiederauffüllung ermöglichen die Festlegung der für die Dreijahresperiode zu vergebenden Finanzmittel sowie die strategische und operationelle Ausrichtung des Fonds. Die neusten Verhandlungen wurden Ende 2016 abgeschlossen.

Skulptur vom IDA Logo.
Seit 1960 hat die IDA viele Gesellschaften verändert und Millionen von Menschen vor Armut bewahrt.
© Simone D. McCourtie / World Bank

Die Schweiz hat dazu beigetragen, das Engagement der Weltbank für die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter so weit zu stärken, dass Gleichstellungsindikatoren jetzt für alle IDA-Programme Pflicht sind.


Die Schweiz und die IDA

Die Schweiz ist seit 1992 Mitglied der IDA. Dank der finanziellen Bedeutung der IDA und ihrer Expertise im Kampf gegen Armut und für andere globale Themen ist das Engagement der Schweiz eine bedeutende Ergänzung zur Schweizer bilateralen Unterstützung.

Letzte Änderung 17.04.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.seco-cooperation.admin.ch/content/secocoop/de/home/themen/multilaterale-zusammenarbeit/schweizer-mdb-einsitz/weltbankgruppe/ida.html