Project spending

Total expenditures SECO Economic cooperation and development 2017–2020 (MIO CHF)
  2017 2018 2019 2020
Total expenditures SECO 399.2 316.4 351.3
Development cooperation 229.2 229.5 243.0
Transition cooperation    77.0   74.4   76.0 72.5
Contribution to EU enlargement 93.0   12.4   32.2 34.7
The table shows SECO’s (Economic Cooperation and Development Division) expenditures as they appear in the state financial statements, without return flows. In the table, SECO’s expenditure includes the capitalisation of the Swiss Investment Fund for Emerging Markets (SIFEM), without investment fund operations.

The economic and trade policy measures implemented by SECO in the context of development cooperation contribute to the reduction of poverty and global risks and promote peace and the human rights. The main objective is to foster a sustainable and inclusive growth. Government authorities, civil societies, private companies and other stakeholders in recipient countries benefit from those measures. Whenever possible, the measures are implemented in cooperation with Swiss companies and service providers. Some specific projects are implemented in collaboration with multilateral organisations (e.g. the World Bank). The 2017-2020 Dispatch focused on the following four target outcomes:

  • Effective institutions and services
  • More and better jobs
  • Enhanced trade and competitiveness
  • Low-emission and climate-resilient economies

Development cooperation

In the context of development cooperation, SECO puts its focus on the more economically advanced developing countries in Africa, South-East Asia and Latin America. SECO's priority countries here are Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, Indonesia, Peru, South Africa, Tunisia and Vietnam.

The total expenditure related to SECO's development cooperation is divided among the priority countries as follows:

Development cooperation by priority country 2019–2020 (MIO CHF)
  2019 2020
Priority countries 114.0 120.0
Colombia 27.2 19.8
Egypt 2.1 4.4
Ghana  16.8 17.8
Indonesia  20.0 11.7
Peru 19.6 16.0
South Africa  8.6 15.4
Tunisia 9.1 15.3
10.5 19.4
Other 129.1 133.5
Countries with complementary measures * 8.9 16.2
Global and regional programs 120.2 117.3
Total 243.0 253.4
* Significant complementary programs to the SDC measures have been implemented in Myanmar, Nepal, Morocco, Burkina Faso, Mozambique and Bolivia.

Development cooperation by theme 2020

Finanzen Süd

Transition cooperation

SECO and SDC engage jointly in transition cooperation with countries of Eastern Europe and Central Asia. SECO's interventions focus on Albania, Kyrgyzstan, Serbia, Tajikistan and Ukraine.

The total expenditure related to SECO's transition cooperation is divided among the priority countries as follows:

Transition cooperation by priority country 2019–2020 (MIO CHF)
  2019 2019
Priority countries 43.3 43.0
Albania   10.4  8.7
Kyrgyzstan   10.2 8.4
Serbia  7.0  9.2
Tajikistan    4.3   4.6
Ukraine    11.3
Countries with complementary measures *  22.8 14.9
Global and regional programs 10.0
Total    76.0   72.5
* SECO implements complementary measures under Swiss cooperation programmes in Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Kosovo, North Macedonia and Uzbekistan.

Transition cooperation by theme 2020

Finanzen Ost

Last modification 21.07.2021

Top of page