Projects and programmes in partner countries

SECO supports advanced developing countries in Africa, Asia and Latin America and transition countries in Eastern Europe and Central Asia facing poverty and development issues. Such cooperation encompasses global measures as well as regional and bilateral (country-specific) measures.

Information on all projects undertaken by SECO as part of development cooperation, transition cooperation and EU enlargement contribution is available in a database managed by the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs.

Economic and trade policy measures in the South

In the context of development cooperation, SECO puts its focus on the more economically advanced developing countries in Africa, South-East Asia and Latin America. As these countries are often regional economic hubs, their continued development has a positive spill-over effect on surrounding countries, some of which are economically even less advanced. SECO’s priority countries here are Colombia, Egypt, Ghana, Indonesia, Peru, South Africa, Tunisia and Vietnam. SECO also operates in other countries in the South with measures complementary mainly to SDC programmes.

Transition cooperation in the East

SECO and the SDC engage jointly in transition cooperation with countries of Eastern Europe and Central Asia. SECO’s interventions focus on Albania, Kyrgyzstan, Serbia, Tajikistan and Ukraine. It also implements complementary measures under Swiss cooperation programmes in Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Kosovo, North Macedonia and Uzbekistan.

Switzerland's contribution to the enlarged EU

As part of Switzerland’s EU policy, SECO and the SDC are jointly responsible for implementing Switzerland’s contribution to EU enlargement. This support covers 13 EU member states in Central and Eastern Europe.

Last modification 22.03.2019

Top of page